Handheld Lamp Selection Guide
Handheld lamps consist of corded portable lamps powered from a socket and battery-powered flashlights; for a portable lamp, supply voltage and working environment drive the choice.
This guide covers what to look at when choosing products in the Handheld Lamps category.
Handheld lamp types
There are two separate product groups in this category: corded portable lamps powered from a socket and flashlights that run on their own battery.
- Portable hand lamp: Also known on the market by the name "baladoz". Because it takes its supply from the cable, there is no limit on operating time; the cable length determines the range of movement.
- Rechargeable flashlight: Runs on a built-in battery and is carried by hand.
- Headlamp: Worn on the head, it leaves both hands free.
Other battery-powered lamps are in the Portable Lighting category.
What to look at when choosing a portable hand lamp
- Supply voltage. Most portable lamps with a stated voltage are for 220-250 V mains voltage. The 24 V plug model is offered to be powered from an isolation transformer with a 24 V output. Which voltage is required is determined by the occupational safety rules of the working environment; the voltage of the bulb to be fitted must be the same as the supply.
- Cable supply condition. A portable lamp that says "without cable" on the product page is not battery-powered; the housing is delivered without a cable and the cable is purchased separately. Models with a stated cable type use H03VV-F or TTR cable; determine the type, number of cores and cross-section of the cable you will buy separately according to the manufacturer's data. If a plug is also needed, see the Single-Phase Rubber Plugs category.
- Cable length. Corded models are listed in lengths such as 5 m, 10 m, 15 m, 20 m and 25 m. For more distant work points, Cable Reels are a separate category.
- Switch. In a model with a switch, the lamp is turned on and off at the housing; in a model without a switch, power is cut at the plug or at the supply circuit.
- IP rating and environment. Portable lamps with a stated IP rating are IP20; a second digit of 0 indicates there is no protection against water. The product data also does not state an Ex marking for these lamps. Equipment to be used in places classified as explosive atmospheres is approved for that purpose and carries an Ex marking; fixed luminaires are in the Ex-Proof Luminaires category.
- Bulb and lamp holder. The lamp holder type, the highest bulb power that can be fitted, and whether the bulb comes with the product are not stated in the product data; verify them from the manufacturer's data before ordering.
How to read the cable type code
The cable is stated as H03VV-F on Bylion models and as TTR on Mete Enerji models. The cable sold under the name TTR is of the H05VV-F type; both are flexible cables with PVC insulation and a PVC sheath.
- H: harmonized cable type
- 03 and 05: rated voltage; 300/300 V for 03, 300/500 V for 05
- VV: PVC insulation and PVC outer sheath
- F: fine-stranded, flexible conductor
H03VV-F is defined for low and H05VV-F for medium mechanical stress; this difference matters in work where the cable is dragged along the floor or frequently wound and unwound. Notations such as 2x1.5 in the product data indicate the number of cores and the conductor cross-section (mm²).
What to look at when choosing a flashlight
- Operating time and charging: The operating time is given in hours on the product page. For some models the connection interface is stated as USB or Type-C; verify the charging method from the product page.
- IP rating: Flashlights are IP20 or IP44 depending on the model. In IP44, the second digit indicates protection against water splashing from any direction.
- Color temperature: For models where a value is given, it is 6400 K, that is, a cool white close to daylight.
Brands in this category
- Bylion: portable hand lamps with MPL model codes; with a housing without cable or with H03VV-F cable, in black and orange color options.
- Bemis: portable hand lamps with and without a switch; without cable or with 7.5 m cable, including the 24 V plug version.
- Mete Enerji: hand lamps with and without a switch; versions with 10 m TTR cable are also available.
- Cata: rechargeable flashlights and headlamps.
Ordering notes
Products are sold per piece. Some models are listed as made-to-order; for these, the lead time is confirmed before ordering. You can search for a specific model by its stock code (for example BA1-1001-1031 or 40405504).
Comparison and selection table
| Selection Criterion | Rechargeable LED Searchlight / Torch | Corded Workshop Inspection Lamp | Headlamp / Magnetic Work Light |
|---|---|---|---|
| Power Source | Built-in rechargeable Li-ion / lead-acid battery | 220 V AC cord (5 m – 10 m) or 24 V safety supply | Rechargeable or battery-powered, hands-free |
| Beam Profile | Long-range spot beam + side COB floodlight | Wide-angle glare-free work illumination | Focused close-up beam for cabinet interiors |
| Housing Features | Shoulder strap, multi-step brightness, charge LED | Protective wire/plastic cage, swivel hanging hook | Adjustable headband or magnetic swivel base |
| Typical Application | Site patrol, substations, power outage backup | Automotive bays, under-machine maintenance | Electrical panel wiring & tight mechanical repair |
Frequently asked questions
Does a portable hand lamp sold "without cable" run on batteries?
No. For the portable lamps in this category, the expression "without cable" describes the cable supply condition: the housing comes without a cable, and the cable is obtained separately and connected. The lamp takes its supply from a socket and has no battery. If you are looking for a light independent of a socket, look at the rechargeable flashlights and headlamps in the same category. When you want to determine the cable length yourself, the housing without cable is preferred.
What is the difference between a hand lamp with H03VV-F cable and one with TTR cable?
H03VV-F is a PVC cable with a rated voltage of 300/300 V, while H05VV-F, known as TTR, is a PVC cable with a rated voltage of 300/500 V. Cable manufacturers define H03VV-F for portable devices in dry environments under low mechanical stress, and H05VV-F for dry and damp environments under medium mechanical stress. In work where the cable is dragged along the floor and the risk of crushing and pulling is high, take this class difference into account.
Can a portable hand lamp with a 24 V plug be used on a mains socket?
No. In the product data this model is recorded as being for an isolation transformer, with a 24 V plug; it is offered to be powered from an isolation transformer with a 24 V output, not for a mains socket. The transformer is a separate product. The bulb to be fitted must also be 24 V; verify before ordering whether the bulb comes with the product and that the plug fits your transformer's socket.
Can an IP20 hand lamp be used on wet floors or outdoors?
The second digit of the IP code indicates protection against water, and in IP20 this digit is 0, meaning the housing is not protected against water. The 2 in the first digit indicates protection against objects larger than 12.5 mm, for example a finger. For this reason, an IP20 portable lamp is a dry-environment product; the IP rating required for wet places and places exposed to rain is determined according to the project and the manufacturer's data.